NIPNLG Proudly Announces its 2021 Member Honoree, inaugural recipient of the Lisa Brodyaga Award, Elora Mukherjee

Each year the National Immigration Project honors one of its members doing outstanding work for immigrant rights. This year, we are thrilled to honor Elora Mukherjee, as the inaugural recipient of the Lisa Brodyaga Award

Elora Mukherjee is a globally recognized advocate, practitioner, and voice for immigrant rights. As founding director of Columbia Law School's Immigrants’ Rights Clinic and Jerome L. Greene Clinical Professor of Law, Elora’s eyewitness accounts of the inhumane treatment of children along the Mexico-U.S. border in 2019 sparked national and international outrage. She was invited to testify before Congress, where she detailed the harm children were suffering under federal policies she described as unconstitutional, unlawful, ineffective, and un-American. Since November 2020, Elora has been working tirelessly to support and advocate for women who were subjected to non-consensual medical procedures and abuse while detained by ICE at the Irwin County Detention Center in Georgia. A highly dedicated teacher and mentor to her students, Elora has been bringing a fierce, zealous advocacy to immigrants and to our movement for human rights and dignity for more than 15 years. 


Honor Elora Mukherjee, inaugural recipient of the Lisa Brodyaga Award, with a Congratulatory Message

Please help honor this extraordinary member of our community, as well as Lisa Brodyaga's legacy, by placing a congratulatory message in the Commemorative Program Book we are producing for the occasion.

All are welcome to a FREE online Reception & Happy Hour in her honor on June 11, 2021.

Deadline to be included the Program Book is May 20, 2021.


Attend the FREE Happy Hour for Elora during the 2021 AILA Annual Conference on Immigration Law

Friday, June 11, 2021, 6:00 PM Eastern (5:00 PM Central, 4:00PM Mountain, 3:00 PM Pacific)


Can't Attend? Make a Contribution!

Even if you are unable to join the fun, please join us in congratulating an outstanding fighter for justice and immigrant rights, and celebrate the legacy of Lisa Brodyaga.

Your contribution is fully tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law, and supports NIPNLG's work to protect, defend, and advance immigrant rights - marking 50 years of fierce advocacy in 2021 (more at nipnlg.org). Your donation also helps NIPNLG recognize two outstanding members of our community for their courageous leadership and commitment.

REMINDER: Program Book Deadline is May 20, 2021.

Program Book Questions? Please contact Pamela Goldstein at pgoldstein@nipnlg.org.

Photo courtesy of Columbia Law School